Delta State Government has given approval for the construction of six secondary schools and three primary schools in the state. The Commissioner for Information, Mr Charles Aniagwu hinted on this after decisions were made at the State Executive Council meeting.

While commending the efforts of communities who provide lands for the establishment of the new schools, Mr Aniagwu stressed that the schools would attend to the educational needs of the people in the areas where they will be established.

Delta State plans establishment of 6 secondary schools and 3 primary schools

According to the Commissioner, the six new secondary schools would be situated at Warri South, Ughelli South, Ughelli North, Ika South, Ika North East and Ukwuani Local Government Areas, while the three new primary schools would be sited at Ughelli North, Warri South-West and Isoko North Local Government Areas of the state.

He further said that the state has approved the sum of N488.4 million for the completion of the first phase of the Faculty of Arts building of the Delta State University, Abraka.